Home > Life as I know it, Social Media > A word about being phony

A word about being phony

My high school reunion recently happened.  I am not saying which one, or how many years, no sense in you trying to trick me! I had mixed feelings about going, I kept vacillating,  but in the end, I had a conflict that weekend and couldn’t go.

The reason I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go or not was because the thought of high school brought up a lot of old feelings for me.  I was always “trying” to be “somebody”.  After graduation, I didn’t really keep in contact with anyone.  And it’s not because they weren’t good people, in fact, Facebook has brought some of those people back into my life, which is awesome.  It was more me.  It was exhausting for me to try to keep up with the silly pretenses I had set for myself.

Thankfully, this is no longer the case and hasn’t been for a while.  I am not trying to “be” anyone or anything.  I am just me.  I am the happiest I have ever been.  And what may seem ironic, is that I feel my true calling is marketing through social media.  One may assume a marketer has to be a “spin doctor” or not be authentic to sell.  But that is the beauty of social media marketing.  It only works if you ARE authentic.  You can spot a phony in this field from a mile away.  I think this is why I am so drawn to it.

There has been some online conversations about the Internet, and if it is indeed the great equalizer or not.  In a way, I think it is, and let me explain.  It is an equalizer in the sense that I can, right now, become of a part of a large community without having to be exclusively invited.  Whether I am accepted is up to me, my behavior, authenticity, and values.  At no other time could this have happened.  Sure, I have a four-year degree, but so does just about everyone else.  This doesn’t make me stand out to potential employers or business contacts.  What does make me stand out is me: My end of the conversation, my ability to give and to support others, and my ability to receive with integrity.

I no longer feel inadequate like I did at 16 (and, honestly for a good chunk of my 20’s).  It may have taken me a while but I finally learned just to be.  I think the next time I will go to my reunion, no matter what, and I will challenge myself to be grateful to that 16 year-old-girl, because without her I wouldn’t be where I am am right now, which is a really amazing place to be.




  1. September 26, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    awww. I’m glad you’re you. good post. 🙂

  2. Linda
    September 26, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Great post! I’m sure a lot of us see ourselves.

  3. September 27, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    For some reason, the song “Camera One” kept playing through my head as I read your post. “You’re playing you now…” 🙂

    Great post about Self Acceptance. Most people struggle in the journey. The world can be a cruel place, and when it’s judging you on all the superficial things, it can be very damaging. A friend of mine once showed me a dollar bill. He asked “does this dollar have worth?” and I said “yes.” “Can you go into a store a buy something?,” he asked. I said “Yes.” He then proceeded to fold the dollar bill into quarters. He asked again, “Does it still have value? can you go into a store a buy something?” I said “of course!” He then proceeded to crumple up the dollar, threw it on the floor, stomped on it a couple of times, and by the time he picked it up, it was crumpled and dirty. He asked me again “Does this still have value?” I said “yes!” He then said to me “if you believe this has value, then why is it when the world steps on us, crumples us under it’s feet, we no longer believe we have value?”

    No matter what the world says or does, always believe you have value and never compromise who you are.

    Happy you found you!

    Peace.

    • September 27, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      That is a great analogy, thanks for sharing it here 🙂

      I’m happy I found me too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

