Home > Life as I know it > Mama needs a new…prAna tank

Mama needs a new…prAna tank

Valentine’s Day has about an hour and half left in my part of the world until it fades away into the cold, dark night.  I’ve never been very fond of it myself, even when I was married or in a relationship.  It’s like it’s trying too hard or something, it just seems hollow.

My Valentines

After reading one of The Climber Girl’s (Sara Lingafelter)  blog posts about being her own Valentine, it made me think of how I spent today and my weekend.  I spent it with people I like being with doing things I really like to do.  Those people were my kids and my girlfriends.  The activities were climbing, snowshoeing (being outside), dinner/dessert/wine, and just being together.

I had a talk with one of my friends over the weekend about guys.  We both agreed we didn’t really have the desire to give up what was important in our lives – our free time to climb, to be in a relationship.  For me, my kids are #1, my job/career #2, climbing and friends #3 (sorry y’all, I’ve got kids to feed!).  If I was involved with someone that didn’t climb I’d have to sacrifice my precious climbing time to build our relationship.  I’m just not willing to do that right now.  I gave up so much of myself in a past relationship, I am just not willing to do that again.  And, if it is not right with someone, I know right away.  I have honed that skill!

Maybe that is selfish, but so be it.  I feel like I deserve to live on my own terms, not answer to anyone.  I’m sure someday I will be ready to make the compromises that are needed to have a healthy, strong relationship.  But not right now.  Or maybe I just haven’t met “him” yet.  Either way, I’m good and I think I will go on doing some special things just for me, like spending most of Sunday at the climbing gym and maybe even buy myself a new little prAna tank to wear and not feel the least bit guilty… Thanks Sara!

  1. Greg
    February 15, 2011 at 5:20 am

    HP40, although bouldering only, when it’s climbing season, has the same vibe as Miguels, (if you get back to the South at some point.) http://horsepens40.tripod.com/id20.html

    Also, since when does a relationship have to be either/or climbing? LOL!! DATE A CLIMBER!!!!!!!!

    There you go. All relationship problems are now solved.

  2. February 15, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Thanks for the tip, I’ll check out HP40 sometime.

    And thanks for the relationship advice, lol, it has crossed my mind…

  3. February 17, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Sounds like a fabuloso Valentines Day! It seems that any relationship in which you have to sacrifice part of who you are is not worth being in. When you can be totally yourself, climbing and all, and feel like you’re not fighting for it, then you know you’ve hit the jackpot.

    Climb on, lady!

  4. February 18, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Awesome post! And, I hope you got yourself a super cute Prana tank!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

