Home > Life as I know it > 2011: One year after my Epiphany

2011: One year after my Epiphany

Photo credit: Ashley McIntire

It has been almost exactly one year since I experienced an ‘Epiphany’ in regards to my career path.  And so far, I have only been happy with my decisions.

Up until last January, I thought I was going into teaching high school English.  I had 2 classes left to take and then student teaching, when one night it struck me.  I was asleep in my bed, it was like 2 AM, when it came to me.  My eyes shot wide open.  And I knew.  I just knew that teaching was not #1 for me.  But the beautiful part is, I knew what was.  I didn’t want to teach writing, I wanted to write!  I knew that if I had nothing holding me back, no responsibilities, no fear, endless cash flow, that I would want to write and more specifically, write in the outdoor arena.  All my life I had never known what I ‘wanted to be when I grew up’, but now,  I finally did.

And so I thought, why in the world should I settle for a second-choice career?  I mean, I already made some pretty huge changes in my life to have it match what my heart was telling me to do (namely, a divorce).  I always listen to my heart, it may take me a while, but in the end, I know it is the only voice that matters; it will never steer me wrong.

This year has brought me some pretty nice opportunities to help make my actual life match my heart’s vision of my life.  I have discovered only this summer my absolute love affair with climbing, another unexpected development.  This passion has brought me some really exciting  opportunities to pursue my writing.  It has also given me the gift of an amazing community.  The climbing community I am now a part of is so important to me and I am so grateful for the connections I have made personally and virtually.  I am also grateful for the friends that helped get me on the path to where I am now (you know who you are).

My hopes for 2011 are to continue to climb as much as a single mom, working full-time, writing part-time, and attending school possibly can!  I will continue to be the very best mom I can be to my beautiful children; putting them first and foremost.  I also plan on working as hard as I can at making my dream possible for me and my kids.  I hope when I do graduate in April, I will have more time to spend with the people I love the most.

For me, the hardest part is done.  I know, what I want, now I just have to make it happen.  That is the fun part!

Happy New Year!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

