Home > Uncategorized > Cycling and single

Cycling and single

I’m a single girl.  I think male cyclists are hot.  No doubt about it.  Riding my road bike is one of my favorite things to do in the world, so it seems like my perfect match would be easy to find; a gorgeous companion to roll on paved roads with, mile after mile.  Eh, not so much.  It is just my luck that the activity I like the most is not very conducive for meeting people.  Unless you have a tandem bike, it is a loner activity.  Granted, I take group rides often, but usually it means riding as hard as you can and not socializing during the ride.

Take climbing for example.  Way more partner friendly.  You need to have a climber and a person on belay.  There is plenty of time for chit-chat between routes.  Even in snowboarding you can talk while riding the chair lift.  But in cycling, unless you are at a slow warm-up pace (think Sunday morning driver pace) it is really not a social pastime.

Another problem with the speed of road riding (which is, by the way, the best part of road riding) is that there are many times when I see an attractive male cyclist coming towards me on the road.  But how does it end up?  With each of us exchanging the nod of acknowledgment or the cyclist wave and… cut.  That’s a wrap folks. Its over.  That is the end of the discourse; we both rode off on our separate ways.

I even thought an organized century ride may be the place to meet single cyclists.  My friend Jessie and I rode in an organized ride together last summer.  I saw a lot of guys, but everyone was focused on finishing and what there times were, there was no mingling or socializing.  I could hardly even get a guy to glance at me at the SAG stops.  Not the best self-esteem builder.

So I guess it is just me, The Contessa, our tunes (stop judging, I know!) and the open road.  Definitely not a bad time, but there is always room for improvement.

The Contessa

Me kissing The Contessa before an organized ride.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 19, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Mom, this is so cool. I luv it!!!!!

  2. Dave Hirt
    May 19, 2010 at 3:44 am

    A sound start to what is surely great things to come! Good luck and happy trails. Peace, Dave

  3. bert
    May 19, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    An easy ride and picnic for cycling singles might be a good idea to meet someone.

    • May 19, 2010 at 7:15 pm

      Fully agreed. But that would mean you have already met the person 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

